Processing Victim Blaming and Chrissie Hynde

 

Pretenders_Dec_81.JPG
The Pretenders performing in 1981. CC license.

As I got older, Chrissie Hynde became one of my rock heroes. I cut my hair like her and dyed it dark, rimming my eyes will heavy kohl liner on the bottom. I’d wear menswear inspired pieces unbuttoned low with tight jeans, vests, and heels. I did karaoke to “Tattooed Love Boys” and winked when I sang the lyric “I shot my mouth off and now you show me what that hole is for.”

I used to think that line was incredibly sexy until I came across article after articleabout Chrissie Hynde and her victim-blaming of rape survivors.

Shame on you, Chrissie Hynde.

It takes a lot for a celebrity to break my heart, but you managed to. When I found out that you were a victim of sexual violence, I thought we could stand in solidarity together through a shared experience. I thought that maybe, just maybe, you would step up to the plate and use your platform as a famous voice to help other women who are recovering from such atrocities.

… read more on Wear Your Voice Mag.com

Leave a Reply

